In Michigan, a pending bill on the governor’s desk would authorize the replacement of regular license plates. Two more bills are set to cover truck logos and electronic proof of vehicle insurance. One more bill that is already halfway through the statehouse would require a few number of commercial vehicles to display the company’s information or registered logo. There is also another bill on the governor’s desk that would speed up the replacement of license plates in the state. A lot of commercial vehicles that weigh more than 5000 pounds must include the information logo on each side of the vehicle. Those who violate this rule will pay a fine of over $58, including court costs. This revenue will benefit public libraries and state costs. The House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee currently houses the bill, which is also known as SB277. It was introduced by Sen. Joe Hune on March 19, 2013. The purpose of this bill is to eliminate a requirement that all commercial vehicles weighing more than 5,000 pounds need to display the name of the owner on the side of the vehicle. The United States House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure is a standing committee on the United States House of Representatives. This committee is one of the largest committees in the Congress. It has broad control over all forms of transportation. It also controls highways, bridges, mass transit, and railroads, as well as other types of infrastructure. SB277, which was approved by the Senate, would change the threshold of all household vehicles in Michigan in excess of 26,000 pounds.
However, the change will not apply to towing vehicles, platform bed wreckers, or road service trucks. Those who support this bill have said that the requirement for all commercial vehicles that weigh over 5,000 pounds to display the owner’s information isn’t necessary, and can be quite costly. Some of them have also said that this can cause a burden. Bill SB277 would also mean that trucks weighing less than 10,000 lbs are no longer exempted. This also applies to trucks with farm license plates or manufacturer license plates. Meanwhile, HB4633 requires drivers to purchase a new plate every decade, even if the plate is still legible. This change will take effect in the year 2015. This bill was introduced by Rep. Wayne Schmidt on April 25, 2013, and was passed on November 14, 2013. Certain requirements are needed in order to make sure that these license plates are readable, according to its advocates. If this is approved, then the Secretary of State would also study moving to a digital method of printing plates.
A fiscal impact statement that was attached to the bill states that the cost for reissuing plates would be covered using the fees charged for each plate. One plate cost around $5. If one more bill of interest is made, then this could help truckers and other drivers to avoid digging through vehicles when they are apprehended to get their vehicle insurance card. Also, SB392 will allow drivers to give law enforcers with proof of insurance through their smartphones, as well as other similar devices. These drivers will no longer be required to own the usual traditional paper proof of insurance to avoid receiving tickets. This option of getting a digital proof of insurance is steadily rising in popularity. The number of insurance companies that offer apps for customers to download on electronic devices is slowly increasing. According to the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America, this policy is now adopted in over 27 states. Seventeen states approved in 2013. The bill currently awaits a vote from the Senate. If approved, then it will be moved to the House. The Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA) is the country’s biggest property casualty trade association. It represents more than 1,000 member companies. The PCIAA’s purpose is to advocate the public policy positions of its members at the state and federal levels, as well as to provide them with targeted information about the industry.